Half marathon Training: Weeks 5 and 6

Last time I recapped the first month of my half marathon training, but now I’m hoping to break it into two week segments.

Week 5
After the vacation fiasco of zero running during the whole week, I got back into it right away when I got back. And by right away I mean in Tuesday. I was tired on Monday and my apartment was over run with dirty clothing and other just-got-home-from-vacation mess. It was a slower run, but that’s to be expected when you take a week off. I took a new 2.4 mile route and found a disc golf course! I may have to go try sometime…

IMG_2831.JPG

Wednesday I was nervous and excited for! I joined a training group to train for this half. I ran nearly all of the last training by myself, and 12 miles solo is long. I was excited to meet people, and scared to meet people. Ever have that feeling? I find people scary and intimidating, which is no offense to any of you, I’m just pretty introverted around new people. But it was fiiiiine! Better than fine! There are quite a few people around my pace, so we ran and chatted. Fun times!

Running Group #1

Saturday I met with the group again for our long run. And WOAH was it humid. Yuck. Hopefully this won’t happen again.  I was having issues with water.  I didn’t want to drink to much and have a sloshy stomach or have to pee, but I didn’t want to end up totally dehydrated.  By the end I definitely concluded I could have drank more water.

Total for the week was about 11.5 miles!

Holy Humidity!

Holy Humidity!

Week 6
I busted out three miles after work on Monday, exploring some more new routes. Not to far behind my office is a few parks, and a bunch of intertwining trails. I run back there regularly and can make up new routes ever time! It’s great, I live new paths.

Flowers run

Wednesday was back with the group and it was muuuuch less humid this time. But it’s starting to get darker sooner and I’m not a fan! When our runs get longer and the sun sets earlier we will be coming back in the dark for sure!

Wed Trail

Friday I finally got to go back to yoga! I haven’t been in a while because my regular class was Wednesday evenings. Which is the same time as my running group meets. But I had Friday off work, so I was able to get to yoga mid morning on Friday. Honestly? I was in a funky grouchy mood and it wasn’t the most fun I’ve ever had. My legs were apparently tired and my muscles were shaking while I was trying to hold poses. Not the relaxing experience I was looking for.

Yoga

I work up for Saturday’s long run and everything hurt.  My shoulders, arms, abs, legs… all of it.  What on earth happened during that yoga class?  Ouch.  I met with the group, and we set off for one loop around the trail, or about 5.5 miles.  Considering the weather we have had lately, this weather was beautiful.  The wind did pick up part way through which made the up hills a pain.  But we did it!  5.5(1) miles in nearly 1:00 on the dot!

saturday

3 thoughts on “Half marathon Training: Weeks 5 and 6

Leave a Reply

