Treat Yourself Tuesday: Labor Day

It is the day after a holiday weekend.  Of course there were treats!  I am going to link up with Becky over at Olives ‘n’ Wine to recap my holiday weekend of fun!

Saturday (post-long run) the boyfriend and I headed into the city to to go to Finch’s Beer Company in Chicago.  We had booked a tour and tasting of the brewery.  On the tour we learned a little about the history of the company, like that they are about three years old.  We got to see their production and canning facility as well.  And of course there was a tasting, during which we learned a little about each of their beers.  Unlimited tastings by the way.  Yum!  After Finch’s we tried to go on a tour of Revolution Brewing as well, but their tours are first come first serve, and we were no where near the first to come.   Of course we had a beer before we left though 🙂  After getting home, we rounded out the day with Greek salads for dinner and a few episodes of West Wing.

Finch's Beer

Sunday had a leisurely start, and I was able to make myself a breakfast feast, which I don’t often have time to do!  After church, we floated in the pool and read all afternoon.  Considering it was Labor Day weekend, we are probably running out of time to do this!

Brekkie2

Monday we had zero plans.  We rolled out of bed and tried to go to Whole Foods for breakfast.  Unfortunately… their breakfast is only on weekends!  Who knew?  Not me!  I do now though.  I was so bummed!  I was really looking forward to their french toast…  Instead we headed off to another bunch place at the recommendation of his aunt.  Everything was very tasty (and was enough food to be my lunch today at work, too).  The fruit was oddly delicious.  I am normally not a fan of grapes, but these were SO good!

Brekkie

There was more family time, some Starbucks and some more reading by the pool to complete the wonderful weekend.  Earlier this week I finished The Silkworm by Robert Galbraith (AKA JK Rowling).  It is the second in her Cormoran Strike mysteries, and they were both SO good.  I was bummed it was over when I finished it, so I started re-reading (for the 4 millionth time) Harry Potter and the Socerer’s Stone.  So fun!

Today… back to work.  But it’s only a four day week now!  Happy Tuesday, everyone!

 

Treat-Yourself-Tuesday-Badge

7 thoughts on “Treat Yourself Tuesday: Labor Day

Leave a Reply

