Half Marathon Training: Weeks 7 and 8

Half Marathon training is plugging along. Just under two months to go!  Here’s the first month, and Weeks 5 and 6!

To go along with this recap, I am going to link up with Jessica Joy at The Fit Switch and Nicole at The Fit Pepper for their first The Fit Dish Link Up!  So Exciting!

Week 7 kicked off Labor Day, which meant the long weekend was filled with lots of yummy food and drink. Back at it on Tuesday though, with a few miles up and down a hill by my apartment.

Wednesday with the group we ran “one loop” of our trail, which rounds out at 5.5 miles. This was the same distance we had run for the long run the Saturday prior. The time on Wednesday was about 20 seconds different from the Saturday prior. I was impressed with our consistency!

Saturday’s long run I was hurting a little for. Just under 7 miles, and my knees and hips were bugging me (not good). Luckily I had a big day of nada planned after the run. I did a little shopping, and a lot of relaxing. Excellent recuperation!

Week 8 of the training plan was a disaster of a week at work. Not really an excuse not to work out, but it is what it is.

Wednesday rolled around and I hadn’t worked out yet. When I left for work the weather was AWFUL. All day long it was beyond dark, gloomy and just gross. I was so excited that I didn’t have to go run! HA, says the weather and it got sunny and beautiful about an hour before I was supposed to leave work. Go figure. So I hauled my bum over to go run and, go figure, I had a good time. Imagine that. A few miles in there was this cloud, though. It was not gradual at all, just a cliff of cloud. I wanted to take a picture, but I didn’t take my phone in preparation for downpour. It started misting and it got pretty dark, but that’s all it did was mist. I was worried we were going to get whipped off to Oz! Can you click your Saucony’s to get back home? Anyway, it was a pretty good run. It was so much cooler than it had been, and we were flying! We ran six miles in one minute more than we had been running 5.5. Woo! Improvement! (Or cooler weather, either way). I was hurting again, and iced my knee when I got home. Only one though, I only had one ice pack in the freezer. The rest of the week my other knee has been hurting. I don’t know if it is hurting just because (it does that sometimes) or if it really could have used some ice too…

Saturday’s long run was COLD.  I was not prepared for 42 degrees! The first few miles were less than fun, but after two miles or so, I got the feeling back in my fingers and powered through 8 miles.

8 miles

I felt pretty good; eight miles is the longest I’ve run since my last half marathon in May.  The knees though… I need to figure out what to do about the pain in the knees.  latte

These two weeks were OK. The quantity of runs was meh, but the quality of the runs was pretty good. Week 9 though, this girl has plans! A running buddy can’t make it to the group on Wednesday, so we got together on  today .  Then I have a run-then-wine date with another friend on Tuesday. Wednesday and Saturday, group runs as usual. Excited!

13 thoughts on “Half Marathon Training: Weeks 7 and 8

  1. What half are you running? And yes, it was definitely chilly this past weekend. Bummer on the knee and hip pain, if you’re ever in Chicago, you need to check out Delos Wellness. They’re seriously working wonders on my aches and pains!

    Like

    • I’m running the Naperville Half! I went to college there, so it will be fun to run through the old stomping ground 🙂

      And thanks! I’ll keep them in mind if this pain doesn’t go away.

      Like

  2. britexas says:

    So cool that you are training for a half. I did my very first this year. I don’t know if I will do one again, but it was such a cool experience. Keep up the great work!

    Like

  3. jessicajoydurfee says:

    Great work! 1/2 marathon training is tough, and I give you loads of credit! I haven’t run 8 miles in a LONG time, but you’re definitely inspiring me! Thanks for linking-up! Love growing the #fitfam!

    Like

Leave a Reply

