Half Marathon Training: Weeks 9 and 10

Half marathon training is plugging along! Six weeks to go!
When we left off at week 8, I had big plans for week nine!

I am join yesterday’s Fit Dish link up with Jessica Joy at The Fit Switch and Nicole at The Fit Pepper!  Go check it out!

My running group meets on Wednesdays, but a running buddy couldn’t make it that week so we met up after work on Monday to get a run in. We ran 5.5 miles around my work. I haven’t run that far leaving from work before, so we ventured into uncharted territory. Our scenery turned out to be some biiiiig houses. I decided for the sake of not-being-a-creeper, I wouldn’t plaster pictures of strangers’ houses all over the internet, but seriously. Mansions.

Tuesday I had every intention of running with a friend, and then going to get wine and dinner with her. Wellllll, we went straight to the wine and food. Worth it.

Pinstripes

By Wednesday I was having a crazy week and for mental health’s sake as well as knee’s health’s sake I skipped out on group running and had a night in to myself. It was seriously needed. A run may have helped the stressfulness of the week, unfortunately the nearly 2 hours of driving involved to get to the group (thanks rush hour) do not help the stress.

Thursday I made up for it, and ran somewhere between 4 and 5 miles around work. Ever pause your Garmin at a stoplight and then forget to start it again? Yeah, that’s the “between 4 and 5 miles” bit. I went yet another route this time and found this crazy building. I tend to get distracted by shiny things and paths I haven’t been on before. I knew the general idea of where this path went, but then there was a fork that I didn’t know existed. I just had to take it; I can’t help it. 🙂

PeabodyEstate

Saturday’s long run started out OK, then the whole knees-hurting-business. Ugh. This was a run that may have turned into a walk if it weren’t for my running buddy. I was encouraged along by renditions of Shakira and Meghan Trainor. (Love)

Monday of week 10 started off with a after work walk with boyfriend. Mondays can be dumb, and getting to be outside and just chat with him improved the Monday-ness.

For Wednesday’s run, some of the group was doing 8. Now I don’t know about that came about. It seems to me that if the previous week’s long run was 9, we don’t need to be doing 8 on a week day. Not when I have to do 10 coming up! This seems a little high, for my liking and my knees liking, so we knocked it down to six. My knees were over it by mile 4, so I’m glad that wasn’t the half-way point!  It was pretty dark by the time we were done, so I was OK with that choice.  I did get to try out my new shoe lights!

DarkShoe

Thursday I went to the gym! I haven’t been there in a while. Like… over a month. It’s been too nice outside! We did an arms work out, and let me tell you did I feel it the next day. I gotta go to the gym more often!

I mentioned last time that Saturday’s long run was 10 miles. Always feels good to get a double digit run under your belt!  For the most part, it was pretty uneventful.  It was oddly humid, which made it a bit of a struggle, and there were certainly times that I wanted to lay down and take a nap.  My knees held out for 4 or 5 miles before they started hurting.  I was tired afterwards!  And I had a full day of travel and fun for the rest of the day, and I was only a little loopy from being tired with no nap!

We are getting closer to to the end of training and I’m getting excited! Six weeks to go!

5 thoughts on “Half Marathon Training: Weeks 9 and 10

  1. Group running is really a great way to stay motivated. All of friends are way faster than me so I have to work up the their pace but I can’t wait to be able to run with them.

    Like

Leave a Reply

