Half Marathon Training: Weeks 11 and 12

Less than one month left until race day!

Monday of week 11 I set off for 4 miles after work.  It was a perfect fall day.  Cool weather and crunchy leaves.

Fall Run

Wednesday for the group run, we knocked out 5.5 miles (AKA “one loop”) and then headed to a local Mexican restaurant!  Corona and enchiladas… my kind of running evening.

Corona Run

For Saturday’s long run, we got a break!  Only eight miles!  I love it when I get to the point where “only” prefaces “eight miles.”  It doesn’t happen very often.  Even though we got a mileage break, we certainly did not get a weather break.  It was cold… 39 degrees!  It was windy.  It was raining… luckily not the whole time.  And there was the occasional time where there were snow flakes instead of rain drops.  SNOW!  But we survived.  More than that… we were pretty fast!  Eight miles at a 10:13 pace.  I’ll take it!

Cold Run

To start off week 12, the boyfriend and I hit the gym for a weights session.  I’m going to keep working on these arm muscles!  *Flexing emoji*

Wednesday with my group, I wanted to do six miles.  Then I was talked into 6.5… and eventually 7.  When all was said and done we did 7.25! Tricked!  But the run felt good.

Saturday’s long run had weather in the upper 30s again.  However, there is apparently a HUGE difference between 38 and windy/rainy and 38 and sunny!  Luckily this time we had 38 and sunny.  This run also felt really good.  I didn’t want to fall into a heap until mile 9.  Nine of 11 feeling good?  I’ll take it.  Those last two miles though… whew.  We made it though.  And the pace was AWESOME.  I’m getting pretty excited.  I feel faster than I have in the past, which is a great feeling.

11Miles

I only remembered to take a picture after I already collapsed into the car 🙂

I was struggling through this whole training thing for a few weeks.  I was feeling like I was always tired, never getting to sleep in on Saturdays, fitting in these longer runs… it was bumming me out.  But looking back on these last few weeks, it’s making me feel better about it.  Seeing results is quite the motivator!

How is your training?  Do you have any fall races coming up?

3 thoughts on “Half Marathon Training: Weeks 11 and 12

  1. It’s exciting to see your plan coming together & feel yourself getting stronger hey! Good luck. I have the 4th run of my 12 in 12 months on Sunday and for once I am really going to push myself!

    Like

Leave a Reply

