Friday Five: Favorite Winter Activities

This week for the Friday Five link up with the DC Trifecta we are talking about Winter Activities!   Thanks to Eat Pray Run, DC, You Signed Up For What and Mar on the Run for hosting!

1) Football!  I’m a big Green Bay Packers fan, and this is a good year for us.  We are having a good season, and the Bears are having a bad one.  Does it get any better?

GB

2) Hot drinks.  This is Illinois I’m living in.  It gets COLD.  Sometimes I feel like I’m cold from November through March.  Non-stop, never warm, which isn’t that fun.  How to combat this?  Warm delicious beverages.  Hot tea, coffee, Gluhwein, chai tea.  (In moments of desperation, there has even been just hot water, but that certainly isn’t my favorite.)

3) Food!  Should I be listing this as a favorite winter activity?  Probably not.  Would I be lying if I said it wasn’t true? Yes.  In addition to all of the delicious cookies and other various unhealthy items I partake in, there are always ways to lighten up comfort foods.  Cooking soups are some of my all time favorite winter foods.  Luckily fiance also loves soups, though when I made him “Bean Soup,” one of my childhood favorites, he was a little concerned.  Beans ain’t his thing.  But he ended up enjoying it!  Either that or he was just being nice.  Either way, I’ll take it.
cranberry

I made a homemade cranberry salad (yum!) and then had some treats a work (which I luckily did not finish…)

 

4) New workouts!  I like running, but I don’t do snow running (See point 2 for my dislike of being cold) and I’m not a fan of treadmills.  However, because of point three (mmmm… foooooood), I shouldn’t take a 5 month hiatus from working out.  So I try to find new things to do inside.  I’ve been doing yoga at home, and yesterday I tried a new class at the gym.  (In other news… I hurt… everywhere. But a good hurt! Just don’t laugh if you see me trying to walk down stairs.)

5) Family.  I love the time time you get to spend with family.  Between the extra time off around Christmas, and the fact no one wants to go anywhere through the ice and snow, it’s nice to hang out with family and friends inside a nice, warm house.
table

From an event at church with my future in laws.

 

What are your favorite parts about winter?

6 thoughts on “Friday Five: Favorite Winter Activities

    • I don’t live super close to my family, so I have to stock pile my vacation days for Christmas time! But it’s nice to see them for more than just a weekend 🙂 I hope you get to enjoy your time with your family soon!

      Like

Leave a Reply

