TYT: Save the Date!


Happy Tuesday, Friends!

During the holidays, is it not remotely hard to treat yourself, and from the looks of my weekend, I have not been holding back.

Friday my fiancé and I mailed out save the dates. This was partly stressful, and partly really exciting! Many thoughts were flying through my head as we were getting them ready, such as “What if no one comes!?” and “There’s no possible way I have spelled everyone’s name and address right” aaaand “Who have we forgotten?” But off they went on Friday! So what’s done is done, and hopefully those people who have spelling errors forgive me!

save the dates

After mailing them off we went to the mall and did some Christmas shopping. We must have accomplished something considering by the end we were hauling around 436,000 bags. With only one gift to myself.

Saturday I laid in bed until about 10. I was awake for a few hours, but ddidn’tget out of bed. It was glorious. It’s be a loooong time since I could take a Saturday morning to watch TV. I was leisurely working on some wedding decorations. I love crafting! My bridesmaids (3 out of 4 girls could make it) arrived at my house around lunch time, and after grabbing some Portillo’s for lunch we went to an appointment to try on some bridesmaid dresses. After changing my mind about 50 times, I decided on one! I think. I changed my mind about the dress. Then I changed my mind about the material, thus changing my mind about the dress again. Then I changed my mind about the color. Why do they come in so many shades? We rewarded ourselves with Starbucks, and then we went back and I got them in on the wedding crafting games. I’m not sure they were as excited as I was, but we all still had a good time chatting. It doesn’t happen nearly as often as we’d like!

flowers

Sunday after church, fiance and I took a trip into Chicago.  We had a jam-packed day!  First we went to the Christkindlmarket.  We went to the one at a local mall a few weeks ago, but had to be sure we hit up the real deal.  We walked over to Eatly, and did some shopping with a glass of wine.  That’s my kind of shopping!  We went over to the new Maggie Daley Park to watch the ice skaters.

One of the places we walked past was part of the route for the Shamrock Shuffle.  Which brings back memories from my first Shamrock Shuffle.  We were about half a mile from the starting line, so there were still a tone of people very close together.  We were running over one of the lift bridges which are very uneven, and next thing I know… BOOM.  I tripped and fell on my hands and knees.  I was a little embarrassed, but I would have been SO much more embarrassed if I had caused a pile up.  There ended up only being one person behind me who managed to lurch out of the way, and then helped me up.  Which I can’t say for my friend who was  laughing hysterically!  Which I probably would have done to her, so I suppose it’s fine.  I’ll link up with Jessica Joy and Jill Conyers for the Fit Dish, because they’re talking about fitness mishaps today! Go on and check it out, but don’t laugh too hard at them 😉

We grabbed some Jimmy Johns for dinner, and then head over to the Chicago Theater for the days main event!

theater

A few weeks ago I managed to win a contest from a Chicago radio station for tickets to Straight No Chaser.  They’re an a cappella group and they’re fantastic.

Here’s a their version of The 12 Days of Christmas.

They did some Christmas songs as well as some non Chirstmas, like Let It Go, and a mash up of 2014 hits like Taylor Swift and Iggy Azalea.  I would highly recommend seeing them if you have the chance!

I’ll also link up with Becky for Treat Yourself Tuesday!  Go check out how other people are treating themselves around the holidays!

9 thoughts on “TYT: Save the Date!

  1. britexas says:

    Oh I love music! I will have to check them out. Congrats on getting your save the dates mailed. I haven’t even found a venue yet for our (hopefully) spring wedding so save the dates have not even been purchased. I probably need to speed things up after the holidays. 🙂

    Like

    • Getting the venue for our wedding wasn’t nearly as hard as I figured. I thought for sure everyone would laugh at me for trying to get a venue 8 months out, but there was a ton availability. You’ll be fiiiiine! 🙂

      Like

    • It was dark so I couldn’t really tell, but it kind of looked like they were still working on parts of it. Maybe they were just trying to get the ice skating open. It was a cool park from where we went though!

      Like

Leave a Reply

